Keep Your Wits About you

Godwits on the beach at Belhaven, East Lothian. These are bar-tailed godwits, and lovely animals they are too. They're Amber status on the endangered scale, but today I realised we have loads. Lucky us!

I realised today that I've always categorised "long bill, grey-brown body, grey legs" as curlews - but curlews are bigger and have a curved bill. I also got some shots of a curlew today, which was nearly-blip.

Big Wits.

After a day working at home, I took the little ones to the Film Night showing of 101 Dalmations (the 1961 original) at the school. What a great time! I realised I've never watched it through, and how terribly beautiful it is. The baddies are very bad, the goodies are terribly British, the plot is quite gory. If the film was made now it would be watered-down I think. This 1961 masterpiece kept dozens of 2012 children riveted to the screen, with gales of laughter. Wonderful, and when you think of how laboriously those films were made, just awesome in the truest sense of the word.

Tonight I have the children watching Star Wars Uncut and they are so excited to make their own clips. Brilliant, let's do it! I have a vague plan that we could re-make the whole film as they grow older... how cool would a family Star Wars movie be? Very, very.

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.