The Reach...

Ooh, I can tell when I'm tired. Regrettably it's when I get annoyed at the kids for being kids basically. Luckily I feel I am very good at recognizing it and so can make sure I don't let it affect the days proceedings.

It could have been a whole heap worse today had we succumbed to the rather yucky weather and stayed in the house all day. I thought I'd introduce Bethany to the climbing arena at Ratho so we headed out for a wee bouldering session for the kids. They faired very well. Didn't climb too high but did curb they're usual enthusiasm for running about the place in their usual fashion.

When we got there, the car park was absolutely rammed which I did find rather odd. Turned out that some parachuting club or something was using the place for practice. Looked a bit odd and sort of pointless but I guess any practice for hurling oneself out a plane at high altitude is never wasted practice. They had rope strung up from the top level (about 30 metres and six odd floors up) right across the arena. They throw themselves off the top on pulleys atttached to the rope and then throw out wee mini parachutes as they gain speed. The parachute then opens, it slows them slightly then they are lowered to the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.