Simple Pleasures

"I know an old lady who swallowed a fly......"

You know the old story.
I hired a carpet shampoo machine for the weekend.
The carpets are in rooms which need tidying.
The stuff which needs tidying needs to go into the laundry room.
The laundry room is full of stuff that needs to go into the shed.
The shed is full, and needs tidying out.
Therefore, we spent the day clearing out the shed.

I won't bore you with the details of the horrors we found in the shed, and how much of the insect world is now homeless.

It seemed only right to celebrate the tidy shed by drinking in it.

I was reminded of the old television series "No Place Like Home" starring William Gaunt (of "The Champions" fame). Gaunt played a man who kept going out "to garden". In the greenhouse, he had a couple of chairs for him and his mate, and a cask of sherry on the worktop.

BLISS

Pat turned up, and joined us in the amazing pleasure of drinking and talking in the shed.

I remember some time ago, folks blipping their sheds. Am I imagining it? I did a 'tag' search of 'shed' but couldn't seem to find the sheds I remembered.

Yesterday, I searched 'sheep'. Today it's 'shed'.

God all-bloody-mighty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.