Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Losing my Regligion

This blip could have been difficult. I have an eclectic taste in music. Classic, pop, folk or rock, I enjoy music of many types and from the world over, so choosing a favourite song is somewhat impossible.

When MamaFi rang this morning to discuss the possible outcomes of mothers fall yesterday, which could be quite complicated, we lightened the conversation in peals of laughter over the song choice possibilities. Opening my eyes to white out, the only things I had on my brain were "I'm dreaming of a white Christmas" or worse "walking in the air" from the Snowman, which is arguably the most irritating song ever written!
We were in fits of giggles at the thought of doing "Jake the peg" "How much is that doggy in the window" or "Puppy Love" and envisaging the subsequent total loss of Blip cred!

I reluctantly dragged my body from my warm bed and looked out of the window. That's it! I grabbed my camera and the song is "Losing my Religion" by R.E.M and one of my all time favourites.

This incredible gothic church is the first thing I see when I look out. Built by Henry Drummond, founding member of the Catholic Apostolic Church of the Second Coming, this church stands an unused monument to a religion that, to all intents and purposes, ceased to exist by the 1980s. Drummond was off his trolley had more money than good sense a Member of Parliament and London banker. When he bought the mansion in Albury Park he moved the entire village that lay on the banks of the river that runs through the park, half a mile down the road to where it is now situated.

The short story is that Drummond invited about 30 lay and clergymen from various denominations to meet in his mansion to discuss the theories and teaching of Edward Irving and the impending doom of an apocalypse he predicted for 1864. Some of the men were excommunicated from their churches others unhappy with their religions. Drummond had an epiphany and 12 men became the apostles of the church, believing in the imminent second coming of Christ.

Drummond instructed the architect William Macintosh Brookes, in 1839, to begin the building of the 15th century style, Gothic church, together with another new church in the new village of Albury so that Drummod could close the old Saxon church in the grounds and effectively close the entire park to the public.
For some reason believers stopped attending the few churches that were built world over and although there are still a few apostles that read and preach its teachings, it is effectively a church that lost its Religion.

A German couple live in cottage in front of the church and are the caretakers paid by a trust. The Church is closed to the public but can be accessed very rarely by appointment but strictly no groups allowed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.