'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

No snow...but meet the new neighbours!

Have to be honest - am gutted that we did not have some proper snow! This is the first year for 4 years now! The difference in temperature today from yesterday is so stark. In fact, only needed my gillet and a jumper when I was out earlier!

Well the new fencing and gate is up, which meant that we were on borrowed time in terms of having the fields to ourselves! Our new neighbours arrived today! Only a small flock, so should be able to share the 2 fields quite happily. Thought it was best that we introduced ourselves, believe it or not, these sheep were very curious and came right up, even though I had Millie and Jem (on leads) with me. They are the ewes who are not in lamb, so do not need to worry about spooking them in to early labour! I love lambing time and will be contacting my friend to see if he needs any help next week, during half term. I find it really 'grounds' me, if that makes sense, and is the one of the few times I have experienced 'real' tiredness! I feel it will be the tonic needed!

I will never forget the time when I had an interview in St Ives and stopped over at the farm the night before to break the journey from Bristol. I never pull the curtains when staying there because no-one can see in (a bit like home now), and was woken very early by the light of a full moon shining brightly into the bedroom. So, as there was no chance I was going to get back to sleep, I decided to get up, check on the sheep and then feed the foster lambs. I sat in the barn with the foster lambs suckling from the bottle planning answers to questions etc and just thought how lucky I was to have this moment to stop and breathe. Also how honoured I was to be entrusted in taking care of both the lambs and the ewes. I got the job in St Ives and stayed for three years before moving up to the South Hams.

Three beautiful things

Taking time to remember good times and happy memories.

Spending an hour playing with the dogs.

Seeing Jem and Suki curled up together on the futon, whilst I am working in the study.

One thing to be grateful for:
There is just one week to go until half term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.