'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

Taxi...!

You know you are a rural school when your pupils ride their ponies home! Meet C and her pony Sophie. I have had permission from them both (and mum) for them to star in today's blip. It reminded me that I will have a cameo appearance sometime this year in the BBC Coast series. I will be the one walking one of my pupils down to the tidal river to be picked up by her mum in her Kayak. You might even get a glimpse of me meeting and greeting in the morning outside my little school! Every day is definitely different!

Three beautiful things:

The glimpse of the sunrise through a thing gap in the clouds - if I had had a decent camera and a bit more time, it would have made a stunning capture!

The buzzards seen on my drive to and from school - standing proudly on their lookout posts! There seems to be quite a few at the moment (or the same 2 or 3).

The sheep and how well behaved both Millie and Jem are being - although it could become a bit of a problem if the sheep keep on insisting on following us! They got very close today and were intent on following us around the field so had to jog to get ahead! At one point, the dogs and I were just stood still and the sheep were within arms length, happily munching away on the grass. One year, we had some young ewes and whenever Millie and I would walk down the driveway, a few would run across to the fence and insist on having their heads scratched and would try to play with Millie. I really wished I had captured that on camera.



One thing to be grateful for:
The beginning of the lighter evenings - I can leave school at 5pm now and still walk the dogs in the light! It was 6pm before it was beginning to get too dark to see them without a torch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.