5/29 favourite song

I don't have a particular favourite song... I like a lot of music, but it depends on my mood. Yesterday in the cafe I was listening to the chef playing jazz on the piano and loving it, although I wouldn't normally listen at home! There's something special about live piano music. Especially jazz. I wish I could hook up with some musicians so I could use my voice as an improv instrument with them. Yesterday evening we listened to The Jezebels and Cara Dillon, and this morning there's been some Elbow playing. When I'm angry I listen to dubstep. (Which I imagine to be good running music, if I ever got chance to go running again. I walked down the aisle to Joe Satriani's "Friends", had "Layla" (the second half of it) playing as we walked back out after being wed, Genesis' "Groovy kind of love" as our first dance and then drum n' bass for a lot of the after-reception 'disco'. When we were first married we still used to listen to LPs and had Jerry Rafferty's "Baker Street" playing quite a lot until I left it in the sun one day and it warped the record :-/ In Finland we were introduced to goth-rock and I listened to Poets of the Fall quite a lot. (We were in Finland when Lordi won Eurovision, and the church we went to were horrified!!) We absolutely fell in love with Club for Five, another Finnish group, who use their voices as all the instruments in their arrangements. My favourite album of theirs is "Uni" which means "dream". I used to sing with a semi-professional choir and I'm a classically trained pianist so I've grown up loving the music of Mozart, Bach and Beethoven at el. I fell in love with Einaudi's "Le Onde" music, and from there the music from The Piano - but probably, the music that moves me the most is the music that comes from my soul when I am able to sit at a piano and play for "the audience of one". When nobody is around and my soul can sing and my fingers can feel the music flowing through them.

I miss my piano.

Lots.

So today you get a shot of Charley, saying it's A.O.K.

And it is.

Even though the boys and I are full of cold, there's no snow, and despite having a grocery delivery yesterday there's not really anything for lunch!

Scotland lost to England last night. When those two teams play each other is probably the only time I can get away with not supporting England. There's just too much Scottish blood in me really. (And at the rate we're going at the moment it'll be scottish whisky replacing the english blood.) Steve has refused point blank to buy me a Scotland shirt though!!


We went on a snow hunt today, with Gordon. (I didn't say, when we arrived at Hayley's yesterday Ben announced that he didn't want to go to Hayley's house, he wanted Gordon!! But he's been very good and apparently made his own way into Stuart and Hayley's bed at some point in the night: Hayley woke up to hear him snoring next to her around 5am bless him!) As suspected, there was snow the other side of the Downs but as both children were poorly we had our pub lunch (Ben slept on Steve's knee until the food arrived and then was revived by chips and water and bread roll and turned into a monster whose cave was under the table, and liked eating Gordon's feet.) and went home again without stopping to play in the snow. Ben was sad that Gordon was going home!

Since getting home the old fridge has been collected from our kitchen to go to a new home, Charley has hit himself in the face with a toy, been cuddled by Ben, and spent nearly an hour on his sheepskin on the floor, playing with hoopyloop and squeaky sheep as Ben and Steve sat near him. He's watching them play on the Wii now. He must be getting a bit cold now but he seems pretty content!!

Time to think about dinner now.....

Happy Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.