Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Stroke of luck

I had to head into Fopp after work this morning to enquire about a DVD for Maddy. As I was talking to one of the staff I was vaguely awaye of someone strumming an accoustic guitar in th eperiphery of my vision. It wasn't until he started singing that I turned round and realised it was the excellent Malcolm Middleton. I had thought his new album was out a couple of weeks back and had been meaning to get it. It turns out it only came out yesterday and he was in Fopp to do a set to promote it.

Since he was just finishing up the sound check I grabbed the new CD and took the opportunity to get it signed, then hung about Fopp browsing for the next half hour until he started playing. The new material sounded excellent and I'm quite looking forward to giving the album a proper listen.

He played for about half an hour and displayed the sort of self-effacing humour you'd expect from listening to his songs. He asked for requests for older material that peopel wanted to hear a wee while into the set, but when I asked for Crappo th eClown from his firts solo album he reckoned it was a bit too bleak. Fair enough I suppose.

The whole thing was an unexpected treat, the only downside being that Fopp didn't have Maddy's DVD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.