Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Bewcastle Cross

While the rest of the country is covered in snow, all we've had is fog. Fog, fog and a bit of sleet thrown in for luck.

Spent a very enjoyable morning (and part of the afternoon) at our friends. Brunch and whisky tasting goes together better than I had ever thought! We were also treated to photos from a recent trip to Nepal. It looked amazing. Beyond words. Made my wanderlust flare up big style. I do love where I live. Cumbria is a fantastic part of the country, but I sometimes feel that there is far more out there to explore, more that I should see. More that the OH and I should see.

After the colour and stunning light of Kathmandu, we then did the most boring of things and went into town to get some bits and bobs for the garden, but decided to go home "the long way round".

This meant that we passed by Bewcastle Church and I thought it would make a good blip. The intention was to light it from the side with my flash, so it made the carving stand out. This is where problem one arose.. flash was sat at home, in the same place as my tripod (second problem). So if any poor soul had been wondering past they would have heard counting down from three to one, then a flash, then probably "Try it again".

I used the flash on my other camera, triggered by the OH pressing the shutter and I had my camera on bulb - hence the fuzzy outline.

For more information on Bewcastle Cross have a look at it's Wiki page. Well worth a visit if you're passing this way.

*Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.