Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Elderly Gentleman

Moses has been looking very very old today.

He is old of course - around 26 months according to what I was told when I rehomed him, which means he's certainly well into his dotage.

Today he's seemed to find moving around the cage quite hard work - if he was a human I'd offer him a walking stick, or take his arm, like I used to do with my grandparents. However, the best I can do is make sure that he has ramps and so on, since I think his bar-climbing days are probably over, and that there is food and water available for him on every level.

Fortunately, if he does have a fall then it won't be very far. There's a shelf under the highest sputnik and a hammock under the highest shelf. The others are taking good care of him too, grooming him and snuggling up with him.

This morning I had him inside my jumper for a lot of the time, and this afternoon I've been checking how he is and giving him loads of cuddles and kisses. Here he is, this afternoon, on my lap. He's always been a lap rat, and it's so lovely to have him there, although he no longer jumps off my lap onto my desk like he used to.

I'm now doing my very best to take special care of him now he's so elderly. He's not actually ill, still eating, still drinking etc., and definitely still Moses, but he's certainly finding life much harder now.

Love him so much, and he'll always be special since he and Charlie were my first ever ratties.

Gorgeous boy. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.