Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Dexter's Ashes

He's home. Well, his ashes are. We've put them on top of Athena's ashes, next to our bed. It feels right to have him home, although still so very wrong that it's only ashes and not his whole self.

It was pretty weird at lunchtime when I had fish paste on toast and wasn't ambushed by him too. I got myself prepared to "accidentally" drop a bit on the floor for him, but then remembered that would be a waste of time.

I actually spent most of the day cleaning cages today. I started with the hamsters first thing, then set up the new cage for Vulcan, Isaiah, and Jeremiah, who will be coming home with me on Saturday, then did the main rat cage, while the men snoozed peacefully in their travel carrier!

I'm also plotting a bit of furniture moving. A table from my study will move to the kitchen. A set of shelves from the kitchen will move to my study. The rat cage will be further modified (this time it's just a matter of swapping around though, no DIY required), and things should be much more organized!

That's for another day though - I was pretty tired after today's efforts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.