Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Snow Geese on Sauvie's Island

Today looks to be the last of our sunny clear weather for a while...guess we will be back to rain within hours! I decided to enjoy the day knowing that soon it will be hard to get outdoors for good shots, so off I headed for Sauvie's Island....my second trip there! This time I was by myself, so not on anyone's clock, and I was able to explore more and found some wonderful areas and many geese and breathtaking scenery. This really is a slice of heaven right near a metropolitan city...we are fortunate to have such beautiful spots, and to have them so well protected for wildlife!

I really thought I was in heaven today....i decided to park in a Oregon Wildlife Parking Lot (yes, I bought a yearly tag for parking), and then saw a road across the street that seemed to go towards the sound of lots of geese. It was posted as a no driving area, but it did not say I couldn't walk (ha!), so off I went. The fields in front of me were alive with Snow Geese and Canada Geese. I also saw some larger geese, but wasn't sure what those were. As I approached (this was a good 5 blocks in) several groups took to flight, and the sound was so amazing. I just felt wonderful standing there in the middle of the island, all by myself, listening to the racket!!

As I got closer, I could see that there were sandhill cranes. I had seen these on my first trip to the island, but they were so far away, the photos were terrible. This time I got them taking off! They really are amazingly beautiful.

I've posted the day's shots....and have a bird that I'm not sure on the ID, so maybe some of you birders can help me. Check out those photos on flickr, CLICK HERE!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.