Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Tualatin River National Wildlife Refuge

I woke up this morning to the predicted rain. I had a totally free day and thought I would venture out in my raingear (gosh I am getting so adventurous)! I had no idea where to go, but while browsing some sights in NW Oregon for Wildlife Refuges, I noticed one about 8 miles from home that I was completely unaware of!! It is called the Tualatin River National Wildlife Refuge. Established in 1992 it is located within the floodplain of the Tualatin River basin near the town of Sherwood, Oregon. Refuge habitats are varied, and include a river, 3 streams and wetland, grasslands and forest. Although many of the sections are closed because of the migrating birds, there is a lovely walk that skirts the ponds, and takes you to both an outlook, and a photo blind.

I felt fortunate to see lots of birds, ducks, and animals today....saw my first wild rabbit, and caught a Great Blue Heron in flight, always exciting for me!! I've chosen the Blue Heron, for today's photo, but check out my others on flickr, CLICK HERE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.