Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Planning scan

The process of beginning radiation treatment for my prostate condition all happened suddenly in the end, with a phone call last week just a day after seeing the oncologist in Beaumont and signing the release form. After a week of daily intake of 2 liters of water and a diet which included avoidance of beer, this morning saw my first visit to St Luke's hospital in Rathgar.

This visit was for what's described as a 'planning scan'. It's basically a CT scan, but there's also the bit where the nurses apply tattoo marks which will be used for aiming the radiation machine when I begin actual treatment.

My appointment was for 10:30 am, but it was 12:45 by the time I left, what with registration, waiting, moving to the scan holding area, waiting, having the scan done, waiting, seeing a nurse, waiting, and 'having bloods done'. Both today and each time prior to treatment there's a requirement to drink three cups of water within ten minutes and then wait between 30 and 45 minutes before the scan (today) and the radiation treatment (when that begins). I asked if it's okay to take the water before getting to the hospital, but was told not - which means each of my 37 trips to St Luke's will take considerably more time than I'd anticipated.

After the scan, I was told that a provisional date for commencing treatment was 6th March, but when I told them I was scheduled for an angiogram on 13th March the nurse had a chat with Dr (oncologist) O'Neill and he said he'd prefer to wait until after the angiogram rather than have the treatment interrupted. So my revised provisional start date is 14th March.

I'd been thinking of driving over and back today and each day of treatment, but then I realised that both buses 14 and 15 will take me right across from here to the hospital. I took the 14 over this morning and the 15 back, and it all went just fine. So bussing it will probably be my preferred option (subject to testing the driving alternative when I know what time of day my treatment sessions will be at).

The main thing is that the process has begun. Treatment has gone well so far, so hopefully the addition of radiotherapy will sort me out totally when it's all over.

-------------------------------

Back-blips:
Post-prandial chaos
Under my feet
Lift the lid
Chapel Royal, Dublin Castle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.