Skip's Blips

By Skip

Butterfly season

Spotted several of these beauties in the park this morning. I think it is a monarch, but the viceroy mimics the monarch, and both are North American butterflies, so I could be wrong. Maybe one of you blippers knows more about butterflies and can give it a definite identification. Whatever it is, there is no doubt that it is beautiful, although its beauty is somewhat marred by a couple of torn places on its wings. Butterflies are so delicate, it's hard to imagine they can migrate for thousands of miles, even making transatlantic crossings. From what I read, their annual migration southward begins in August. Maybe that is why I am seeing them now when I didn't see them earlier in the summer. One thing is for sure...Blipfoto and my relatively newfound interest in photography gives me a new set of eyes for looking at the world around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.