What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Ullswater, ice, rain and mist

WHAT a morning, Mike was meant to have a school outing to Newcastle, so it was up at 6.15 to get him to school on time, but cold roads coupled with overnight rain had turned Cumbrian roads into bobsleigh tracks. Simply getting up the 400m hill from the school gates was a major effort. Due to the weather, the trip was cancelled on safety grounds. By the time I got back home, the A66 had been closed due to serious accidents.

I did manage to reach the edge of Ullswater, and spotted this broken-down jetty. I slithered to the edge of the lake over ice-covered rocks, and in the weather, you could only just see the far shore.

I hope it conveys some of the feeling of the weather, and goes to show that there's no such thing as bad weather for photography

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.