The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

As Cunning As A Leaping Fox

It's been a bit of a 24 hours since I blipped.

Most of it I can't tell you yet, not because it is top secret, but I am superstitious when it comes to good news! The moment you tell someone about your plans, or some piece of luck that has come your way, that's the moment the spell is broken and it all goes wrong.

Something quite exciting fell in my lap yesterday afternoon (metaphorically), which meant I made a hurried meeting down at Newport Wetlands this afternoon. I met up with Cellan, who is the South Wales Area Manager for the RSPB. I have met him several times in the past few months since I did my bucket shaking thing back in December. I also met him back on Wryneck Day (still living off that one!)

If the thing I dare not mention wasn't exciting enough, by utter coincidence Iolo Williams, the BBC Wildlife Presenter was there! I have always wanted to meet him, and missed out a few years back when they filmed a show at my dad's allotment called I Love Wales. So I finally got to shake his hand and say hello. Really quite exciting!

But as nice as Iolo is, I am afraid he got upstaged by this young lady!

I saw the fox back at the start of the new year for the first time, and they are now a regular sighting. I had already seen her when I was walking back for lunch, and my meeting. I thought my photo opportunity had passed. When I went back out, she was sat right by the visitor centre in perfect light. She was also jumping onto flies or something, and kept doing these leaps. I knew if I waited long enough I would catch her.

Been a self critical I wish it was a tad sharper, but I will settle for the one I got.

I have put a few more sharper, posed type shots up on flickr which I am very pleased with.

Fox At Newport Wetlands #1

Fox At Newport Wetlands #2

Fox At Newport Wetlands #3

All in all an excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.