Princess Anne at Wallbridge in Stroud

The snow was still lying when I set out early this morning for the opening of the newly renovated Wallbridge Lock, and the adjacent brand new Brewery Bridge, near the centre of Stroud. I am peripherally involved, on committees, with the Cotswold Canals Project's restoration of the Stroudwater Navigation, and the Thames and Severn Canal, which originally opened in 1789 to link two of England's greatest rivers.

By 1954 the two canals had been totally abandoned, and infilled in several places. The restoration of the 6.7 miles between Brimscombe and Stonehouse, through the middle of Stroud town began two years ago, with one more year to go. Brewery bridge, which must carry the A46 across the canal, needed to be completely replaced, and the upper lock at Wallbridge had wholly new gates fitted. There is still much to be done, and there are serious plans for the complete re-opening of the link between the Thames and Severn. It may yet happen.

It was an important day for everyone involved, with Princess Anne arriving to visit the Project's headquarters next to the lock, to meet all the local representatives of councils, charities and the volunteers doing much ancillary work. She must have worked hard in the building, which I didn't have access to, before coming to the lock-side, and after short speeches she unveiled the wall plaque commemorating this day. She appeared very relaxed in the relatively informal setting; I think the fact that she lives only about five miles away means that this is in her parish too.

I took this picture when she then walked a couple of yards to board a canal boat in the lock, which would take her down to the next level of the canal and then float down a short way to Brewery Bridge to officially break the green ribbon, as the first boat under this bridge. I took another picture of her that I liked more, but this one conveys the day better, so I've decided to blip it.

I was allowed a pass and permission to take photos, which I did. The light was terrible with snow still occasionally drifting down. I felt rather envious of some of the press photographers' kit, as I'd decided to just use my prime lens, which does limit one somewhat. I'm not totally happy with my choice of settings and should have checked what results I was getting, but in the haste of live events, it has to become automatic, which didn't yet seem to be the case with me. I'll learn; I am getting a bit better.

But I did get some other pictures I'm happy with, particularly of my colleague John Marjoram, Stroud's Mayor, meeting many people. He is a very popular man. I met and chatted at length with Mark Heywood, the High Sheriff of Gloucestershire, elegantly dressed in the traditional regalia of his office, and he posed for me. I also got pictures of him with our MP, Neil Carmichael, (who hosts a canal forum that I sit on) and the Chairman of Gloucestershire County Council. It is quite useful to get people who are prepared to stand for these traditional 'official' poses, which I generally don't like, but they have to be done. I also particularly liked some pictures of the men opening the lock's sluices to fill it up, whom I also talked to while we waiting around. There was a happy feeling about the event, despite the freezing conditions and the overcast blanket of cloud, and a lot of people had turned out to stand on the bridge and the canal-side.

It is not every day when you can get close up with your camera to all sorts of people, even Princess Anne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.