Home alone - day 2

There's still two of them, with no sign of external injury or internal trauma. So far, so good. Packed them off to their professional carers and actually did a productive day's work. That suggests that Mandy's the major distraction and I'd always believed her when she said that I distracted her. Did some extra work to make up for my short day yesterday so by the time I was done there was just time to go down to the garage to put the finishing touches - bar tape - to my new ride.

I've been building this up for weeks. Actually since October, adding wee bits here and there. It's a slightly odd mix of single speed with road wheels, SPDs, a Brooks saddle and time trial bars and brake levers but with cantilever brakes. Some of it was just reduced bits in sales. The bars and brakes were lying around from a previous attempt to rebuild an old frame to use on a turbo trainer. But I hated the trainer and gave it away so it made sense to reuse the bars. No idea why I bought brake levers for a stationary bike.

Anyway, it feels weird because the bars are very narrow. Good for nipping through traffic. The gear is 40:20 so there's probably a better chance of getting that up Arthur's Seat than the 50:16 I've been failing with. Still, it would be no lessy cheaty than using a bike with gears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.