Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... A titmouse kind of day...

Yes, I am back to feathers today, can't help myself. And, I decided pretty early that I would blip a titmouse. Why? Well, can you think of a happier bird? With their big bright eyes and can-do attitude, they are uber-happy birds. And, the very first bird that showed up to my bird feeder this fall was a titmouse. This is the first year I've put up seed feeders and when I put the first one up outside my office window, it hung there all sad and lonely for a couple of weeks. Just when I was certain that the birds all hated sunflower seeds, me and/or the feeder ... along came a titnouse.

Some of you may remember that my black cat, Rocket, was afraid of titmice for quite a while. Every time he would hear them outside the window, he would jump off his comfy perch and run and hide. Yes, I know, it's pathetic. I have a sissy-mocker and a fraidy-cat. Maybe there is a theme here...? Well, at least the titmice are completely irrepressible. I decided that they deserved their own Set on Flickr, so if you'd like to have a look, click here for titmice! And, by the way, can you see this little guy's tongue? Did I tell you that I love bird tongues? (Yes, I did, sorry).

We are headed for snow tomorrow, so the juncos and white-throated sparrows started gathering. And, in a paradoxical fashion, some of the male house finches have started singing! I watched this one fluff his little feathers before proceeding to sing his heart out. It is a little early for singing, I'm told, but it seems that our unseasonably warm winter may have the little guys a bit off schedule. My birder-friend told me that some of the robins have started singing too... Love is in the air!

Thanks for the nice comments on my brain-tumor-bench yesterday. For me, taking pictures of inanimate objects is much more difficult than living things. Partly because I don't connect as well to things without faces, and partly because my eye doesn't "see" scenes. So, yesterday's shot pleased me because it was way out of my comfort zone. And your comments pleased me even more, so THANKS.

And, people ... it's FRIDAY!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.