In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Schipluiden silhouettes

I visited the same spot of countryside today as yesterday, seeing as I enjoyed the skating scene so much and had nothing else planned. The weather was lovely today, if only I'd risen at 5.30am this morning instead, I may have caught that beautiful sunrise I was hoping for. I walked alongside the river from Vlaardingen to Schipluiden and back again, quite a trek in the snow and icy cold wind.

A real party atmosphere in the small town of Schipluiden, with tents and stalls set up on the frozen river, selling Chocomel (hot chocolate), hot dogs and poffertjes (mini pancakes) and also one with skates for hire. Had I known in advance and taken a backpack instead of my camera shoulder bag, I may have been tempted to have a go! Yesterday I was happy spectating but today I felt I was itching to get on the ice.

Temperatures are set to rise again next week, unfortunately, but I have certainly made the most of it this week. Daytripping each day, walked my little legs off. Aside from the great walk today it's been a tough day. Mood swing central, anxiety-riddled, compulsive nightmare! Plus worrying about things beyond my control doesn't help, neither does getting frustrated over situations where I do have a say but my voice isn't heard. Exasperating.

Here's to a relaxing weekend. Hope all my blipping pals have a great one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.