In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Elfstedentocht wannabes.

Ice skating is big business here in The Netherlands. Thanks to this ridiculously cold snap this past week, I've been able to witness the Dutchies skating up and down every canal, river and small waterway in the neighbourhood. This was the Vlaardingse Vaart (river) this lunchtime, crammed with folks young and old. Some kids having fun but most taking themselves way too seriously! Elfstedentocht wannabes? This mammoth skating event hasn't taken place since 1997 and it looks like it won't be going ahead this year either, unbelievably and disappointingly enough.

I was up and about at 5.30am this morning. Seeing as I've been sleeping poorly anyway, and the weather conditions looking like they might provide a good sunrise and possibly mist and fog, I thought what the hell, and drove off to the coast. Sadly it was not to be, completely overcast, no hint of a glorious sunrise but it was still a great feeling being the only one strolling up and down the promenade at that time.

Disappointed with the lack of early morning photo opportunities, I decided to pop to one of my favourite areas of countryside on the way home and spotted a succession of heads whizzing by beyond the reeds not far from where I parked. On closer inspection I found this scene!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.