It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Up's n Downs

Rosemary came last night so I know it's not gonna be a relaxing time. She's entered the Celtman triathlon in June so that means serious training. My Ironman events were tough but this is a different league!

Anyway, was long hike day in the Peak District. Fortunately, I live there so it was only a 5 min train journey to the start of our walk. We started off in Old Glossop, heading up to Doctor's Gate. I had my first strop! An ice cube in a whisky is even too much for me and I have the balance of a giraffe on roller skates....... so a path covered in ice and frozen snow is never a good start.

I recognise that I'm incredibly stubborn at times and that's all that kept me going. I wasn't a happy bunny as we were walking up onto the moors and I was worried that the rate of progress wouldn't be sufficient to get us home in time, especially if the weather closed in. Even though the going was tough, under 3km.h moving pace I eventually cheered up. Rosemary agreed that the full route via the Snake Pass Inn wasn't a good idea. Sheesh! Only one measly roll for lunch and no pub stop. It was the right option though.

Beyond Snake Pass, heading past Kinder Scout, the moors were spectacular but desolate. Occasionally a foot would break through icy snow to knee depth but it was usually funny. I decided that my spaniel, when I get one, will be called Jester. Random. Rosemary started to get really cold though......I was roasty toasty but realised how cold it was when trying to take a drink from R's Camelbak! The water in the tube had frozen.

We got back to Glossop just before dark and went to the cafe for a quick nosebag! Yummy Black Forest muffin and a mocha perked me up. We got home and I made squash and coconut soup. It was a spaghetti squash which I'd never used before so just treated it like any other type of squash! Hmm...it tasted like mushrooms!

V. tired now so gonna go to bed! Exciting day planned for tmz though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.