Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

R.I. P. BOBBY

I'm sad to say that poor Bobby didn't make it. I had to have him put to sleep today.

He hadn't eaten since Tuesday so I made an appointment to see the vet this afternoon. The vet listened to his heart. It was very erratic - beating fast and then so slow she could hardly hear it and she thought it might stop. He was obviously going downhill pretty fast.

As his quality of life recently hasn't been good ( not being allowed out, sleeping most of the time and now not eating ) I reluctantly agreed that it was time to put him to sleep. Hard decision for me to make and I would dearly have liked to take him back home with me - but that would have been selfish. The best thing for Bobby was to let him go.

The vet said it might be difficult to find a vein due to Bobby's condition and it might be distressing for me to be there as Bobby might struggle. So I said goodbye to him and went into the waiting room till it was over. I went back to see Bobby - he seemed as if he was asleep and looked so perfect and peaceful. The vet wrapped him in a white towel and put him into his cat basket.

I decided against taking him home on the bus - I was too tearful. So I walked home. Tears falling all the way. It was a hard slog as Bobby was a big lad and it was bitterly cold. But I made it. I will bury him in the garden tomorrow - hopefully the ground won't be frozen. I will get a plaque to mark the spot.

My blip today is a photo I took of Bobby just before we set off for the vets today. Doesn't he look fine - you would never know there was anything wrong with him.

This little poem seems to sum up my feelings well.

The Last Battle

If it should be that I grow frail and weak
and pain should keep me from my sleep,
Then you must do what must be done,
For this--the last battle--can't be won.
You will be sad I understand,
Don't let grief then stay your hand,
For on this day, more than the rest,
Your love and friendship must stand the test.
We have had so many happy years,
What is to come can hold no fears
You'd not want me to suffer, so.
When the time comes, please let me go.
Take me to where to my needs they'll tend,
Only, stay with me til the end
And hold me firm and speak to me
Until my eyes no longer see.
I know in time you will agree
it is a kindness you do to me.
Although my tail its last has waved,
From pain and suffering I have been saved.
Don't grieve that it must be you
Who has to decide this thing to do;
We've been so close--we two--these years,
Don't let your heart hold any tears.

( Author Unknown )

R.I.P Bobby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.