A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Black and white for the old Webster gal

I had a very, very lazy day, officially to alloy the meds to work, but let's be honest, it was just because. Because it was Friday. Because I was tired. Because.

Whenever I look outside my Webster window, I wonder what the girls who moved in in the 1920s saw when they looked outside. Probably rows of tenements and buildings, but obviously, not the splashing of highways leading to the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel, nor the high-rises that crop up every 2 or 3 years. When I moved in the Webster the first time, in september 2010, the building in the back, with the white top, was only half-way up. Now, it's an upscale residential building called the MiMa. They are trying to invent a new hip and trendy neighborhood.

No, the Webster girl from 1925 had at her feet a very different New York. I bet that when she heard horses down the street, she didn't get curious and excited.

ps: I also like the fact that you can almost see me in the reflection. I'm a Webster ghost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.