Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Great Crested Grebes

Gill was working this morning so it was my job to do some shopping, walk the dogs and, of course, get the blip.

I'd seen a grebe sitting on some eggs a week ago and I wanted to know how she was getting on after the cold snap. I wasn't surprised to find the nest empty and the eggs gone. I can only guess at what may have happened. Maybe they were snatched by a predator. One of the locals told me a fox had been walking across the ice to get at the ducks but had fallen through the ice and died.

The nest site today was free of ice and a pair of grebes were milling around close by but so were a pair of coots and I had the impression that there might be a competition for the nest. Still it was nice to capture the grebes going through their courtship routine. The raised crests are part of the display.

As a fisherman I was saddened to see the fishing weight and line wrapped around the branch. I didn't see it until I looked at the image when back at home. If there's a weight and line there's a hook around too and that could be lethal for a bird. Most of the fishermen who use the lake are pretty responsible and clean up after themselves, but there is always the exception. There are plenty of clear spots to throw your bait without risking an entanglement.

It was fun photographing the ducks in the clear light, although I had to watch the dogs, can't risk them getting on the ice. I love cold, sharp and bright weather after a snowfall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.