A time for everything

By turnx3

Clearing skies

Saturday
It was really cold when I went walking at Glenwood Gardens this afternoon, and with a bitterly cold wind - I only saw two other people daft enough or brave enough to be out braving the elements! As you can see from my picture, the sun was trying to break through the cloud. It is supposed to clear overnight and the forecast is for sunshine tomorrow (though still cold) - we will see! Roger had gone skiing with Laura for the day to Perfect North Slopes in Indiana - it must have felt even colder on the slopes. Laura, however had wanted to get her money's worth, so they stayed the whole day, not leaving till about 6.15! I had spent the morning and early afternoon at the Women's Retreat at church. Our female speaker had been our interim associate pastor in 1995 and 1996, so it was great to see her again. The subject for the day was friendship. In the package of papers we received was a sheet of quotations - I thought I'd leave a few with you.

A friend is one who believes in you when you have ceased to believe in yourself.

Friends are God's was of taking care of us.

A friend is a gift you give yourself. Robert Louis Stevenson

My best friend is the one who brings out the best in me. Henry Ford

I no doubt deserved my enemies, but I don't believe I deserved my friends. Walt Whitman

A good friend is hard to find, hard to lose, and impossible to forget.


One year ago: Walk by the lake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.