The Yellow Arrow

By Peregrina

Intermission

It was cold and blustery in New York today, so I decided to hide away in the theater. I went to see a matinée show with the New York City Ballet. This is the inside of the David H. Koch theater, which used to be called New York State Theater.

The show was great. It had four acts:
- Concerto Barroco, a Balanchine choreography with music by Bach that premiered in Rio in 1941
- A tarantela pas-de-deux
- Seven Deadly Sins, a Bertold Brecht piece about two sisters leaving home to help the family and living through the sins (special guest Patty LuPone)
- Viennese Waltzes, the reason why I went.

When I was about 8, I loved Strauss waltzes. I remember "staging" a dance with my sister in the living room for my mother, aunt and grandparents where I wore some shoes that looked like ballet shoes (had ribbons). I think they were shoes I had gotten for my birthday. A few years later I discovered that Strauss waltzes did not constitute ballet music. I was disappointed, but accepted that as a fact. Today, though, I felt validated after all these years! It was a beautiful show. I was in the Fourth Ring and had a very fidgety, bored child sitting next to me, but I still enjoyed every minute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.