Today's Special

By Connections

Birthday Dinner #2

We had a slow start to the day, but by late morning, M, W, and I were exploring several shops and a little cafe downtown. We then headed for Fairhaven, where M found a great dress for an upcoming trip at a consignment store and we checked out a couple of other stores, including our favorite, Good Earth Pottery, where I managed to restrain myself from buying more bowls.

When we returned home, I could see that the light was fading, so we did a quick photo shoot on our deck, as I wanted a good picture of them for my blip today and also to remember this special early birthday weekend. I'm very pleased with the one you see here.

M still had energy to make another delicious dinner for us, which is a good thing, as I wouldn't have! Will pruned our dwarf apple tree, another birthday gift for me, while Megan made cornbread and slow-cooked kale with ginger and garlic, with Will in charge of prepping the kale. While the cornbread and kale were cooking, we sat in the kitchen reading and listening to music on M's iPod.

Our happy foursome enjoyed Megan's dishes with Cuban black beans made by Phil last month and frozen (a very handy freezer staple!), complemented by Will's gift of Champagne. Another round of the Belgian chocolate truffle cake topped off our meal beautifully.

I'm deeply grateful for having had this happy time together to celebrate my upcoming birthday and the love we share, and look forward to seeing M and W again in the near future!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.