Tussock Tales

By TussockTales

This is Where I Live

Sunday Glorious Sunday. French toast for breakfast which means I get the leftover egg and milk.
Oh how I remember this wonderful mix when I was a little puppy and I can smell the mixture on the bench and hover expectantly to no avail. However after the "B's" have dined (That's not the B's in any derogatory sense you understand just shorter than Boss and Bossess. OK? ) The Grub comes out garnished with the wonderful mix. I wonder if you could have cheese on French Toast? That would really be ??
Ok. Well anyway after Grub it's up the mountain time so into the Jim (Suzuki Jimney RV) and off we go.
Driving past the lake front The Boss gets all excited and drives up on to the lake edge leans out the window and snaps this. I whinge! Because I can recognise the wonderful artistic possibilities of having a DOG in the foreground. The Boss tells me not to be impatient we will get there (completely misreading my whinge) and drives of the lake edge and on to Mt Iron. What's a DOG to do? You may notice that the lake is very low. This is because we have had little rain and the snow has long melted away. This creates great foregrounds but also creates a shortage of water for Hydro electricity generation NOT that there is any power stations on Lake Wanaka but there are downstream, and if Wanaka is low so are all the other Hydro lakes in the area which can lead to problems in the winter. New Zealand is fairly dependent on Hydro generation but is growing wind farms steadily. We are vulnerable in droughts and although it has been very wet in the North Island there is only 1 power cable (in bad repair) joining the South to the North so things can go ugly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.