Blips by g

By BlipsByG

Hearts of the matter

I went to my first ever Council meeting today. Hopefully my last...

2 hours that I will never get back.

See, we have local parking issues. We have a very good neighbour who is sorting things. But the boss decided that "we" should show some support. "We" means me (She is the boss after all) so I ended up at Tynecastle High School listening to the droning on of the local councilers and other pen pushers. Thankfully I arrived a bit late. So missed 10 minutes of boredom.

Men with beards trying to outdo council guys with reseasrched questions they alreadt knew the answers to. Questions that had little baring on the nights topics. And congratulating themselves on their one-upmanship when said councilors couldn't answer their questions.

Councilors that came up with solutions that even the CEO could have dreamed up in his sleep...

I probably reduced the average age by a few years, at least.

I have respect for my neighbour who sits through these regularly.

The highlight of my night - memories of visiting the stadium regularly to cheer on the Hearts. I've still a soft spot for the team. But I haven't been to see them since I was at school, despite moving quite close by. When the CEO grows up a bit, he might be forced to endure the boys in maroon. Until then, I'll carry on my occassional TV viewing habit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.