The forest after the storm

I was over at Portavadie having lunch today and afterwards (having noticed yesterday when passing some signs of windblow in the forest by the road down to Loch Fyne) I managed to find a spot where I could get into the woodland to see for myself the effect of the storm of 3rd January.

I have to admit I have not seen worse. Just six weeks ago this part would have been standing timber, just reaching maturity. Now it is a complete hotchpatch of fallen and uprooted trees. Similar scenes were all around.

The cost of this winter's bad weather in Argyll will be very high when it is finally computed. The time it will take to sort places such as this will be lengthy. I suspect sights such as this will be common for several years to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.