Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Genius

Major disaster yesterday, my macbook wouldn't start up. I had the grey screen of death, with the apple logo and a little spinning wheel but it wouldn't go any further.

I used one of our other gadgets (fully equipped in this house, can't risk ever being without access to the internet!) to see what it could be and eventually found out that it was probably a problem with the hard drive.

Tried the suggested tips of holding various keys down at start up but no joy. So it was time to book my first ever trip to the Genius Bar at an Apple store and hope they could fix it - it's only 2 years old.

Appointment was today in the Touchwood shopping centre in Solihull - we usually call it the Torchwood centre, sounds a bit more exciting. The centre was busy and so was the Apple store - didn't have to wait too long to be seen. The good news was that it could be fixed, the even better news was that it was still covered as I'd taken out the care plan which I'd forgotten about - the bad news was that I might lose all my photos.

We had a mooch round the shops and a coffee before going back to collect it - shop was still packed which was lucky as it stopped me getting tempted by new gadgets as it was too busy to browse.

Still got all my photos which is a relief - and it has taught me a lesson about backing up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.