The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

It Beats Walking Round IKEA Any Day

So meet Hannah, Christine, Jan, Andrew, Holly, Jennifer & Scott, aka "The Mixed Bag" or "Well Done for Half Way" and if you're wondering what I'm going on about then that's the working titles for our Kiltwalk Sponsorship page that will go live this week when we register for The Kiltwalk. Yes I know, I know, here's me trying to entice you all to walk 26 miles for Scotland's Children's Charities and I haven't even signed up yet. Well I've been busy tweeting, facebooking, bliping and Kiltr'ing well that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!!

This is some of my gang who are are either walking the Hampden Park to Loch Lomond Kiltwalk, or the 10K walk at Loch Lomond Shores, hence the name 'Mixed Bag'. Andrew (tallest and at the back) did last years Kiltwalk, so it's impressive that knowing the agonies, he's up for it again. The rest of the gang were spectators at last years event and although they enjoyed the sunshine and ice cream, I think they felt a little out of things as the heroes of the day were the Kiltwalkers. So this year they are all joining in and walking the 10K, with Andrew and Scott doing the full 26 miles. Scott was given the option of the 10K, however at 15 there's no way he was going to do anything other than the full Bhoona, it's a boy/man thing.

Our gaggling gang wasn't quite complete as Zoey, Paul & Keri couldn't join us for one reason or another, while the Houston lot were off doing 'family' things.

So why the title of "It beats walking round IKEA" I hear you ask? Well quite simply one of the aforementioned, and I'll name no names, thinks a walk on a Sunday can only take place at IKEA or Dobbies Garden Centre, or worse still Silverburn, so it was with great pleasure that she was out voted and therefore we had an enjoyable hour and a half walking round Rouken Glen park and the surrounding areas.

Of course some of them think it was easy (just wait till the morning) while the rest of us need to step it up a notch as 26 miles is an awful lot more than 6 and there's only 8 weeks to Kiltwalk day, gulp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.