Home Trails

Pressmennan Wood, East Lothian, 4.30pm. I escaped at 3.30 really in the mood for a bit of exertion and exhilaration - and succeeded. Pressmennan is about 5 miles from home via Biel and Stenton, and it's all uphill. When you hit Pressmennan the surface is sticky and muddy, but by hell I love it. Stand up, straighten your back, look up eh? And climb. And climb.

Big Climb.

And what goes up must come down, with the 4 mile descent from here via Biel in the dark creating ear to ear grins all the way to the shore at Tyninghame Bay. Buzz buzz.

I had hoped for a killer sunset since we had clear skies with whispy clouds, but I could see the bank of cloud on the western horizon as I headed out so I knew it wouldn't be much of a display. You need a clear horizon and a bit of cloud nearer for the best sunsets. So, as the sun lit the trees in Pressmennan, I jumped off for a "just in case that's it" shot - and it turned out pretty good :) That wasn't it, there were a few more nice scenes which I've put on Flickr from today, all of them straight off the camera. What a beautiful evening.

During the day I took the children swimming which they enjoyed enormously. Malcolm is really lovely just now, playing with his little brother and sister so well and being considerate and supportive beyond his years. When Gordon was sad last night because he missed Duncan (who was at Scout camp), Malcolm brought him Duncan's teddy and that sorted him out. What a treasure.

Duncan had a good Camp, but was so exhausted when he got home. Just as well it's half-term! I'm back to work tomorrow though, and out to see Carnage with Marchmont in the evening which I'm really looking forward to.

All's well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.