Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Above Haweswater

Fog, fog and more fog.

So much fog in fact there have been accidents all over the place. We had to come home a very convoluted way to miss the traffic caused by the accident on the M6 and that of the roadworks in Penrith.

We didn't really have a route or destination in mind today, other than starting from Penrith. We got to Shap and I shouted "90 right" at my driver and we then headed towards Shap Abbey (I thought that would be "atmospheric" in the fog) . The left turn for Shap Abbey came into view and we continued straight on. "We'll go there on the way back." says he!

The road continued to wind and the fog got thicker, then cleared and then came back again. Left turns followed by right turns followed by lefts and eventually we got to a "Road Closed" sign on the road leading to Haweswater. It clearly wasn't closed at there was traffic coming out of it, so on we trundled. Not knowing exactly how much we'd be able to see at the end of it.

We stopped at Whiteacre Crag and walked through the gate up onto Mardale Banks to get a better view. By this time the fog had lifted a bit and we could see across and along the reservoir. The OH accidentally found a geocache, he thought it was a trap of some sort!

One of the things I find myself doing when I'm out walking, is when I get to an outcrop, or a bend in a river, or a ridge, I always end up saying "I think we'll just go round the corner, just to see what's there.. So when I set out to get to point "A", I usually end up at point "K".

So what I really meant to say, in a short, this is the view from point "K", looking towards Mardale head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.