Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

A Pint Of Tea!

Is there no Latin word for Tea? Upon my soul, if I had known that I would have let the vulgar stuff alone.
Hilaire Belloc

You can't beat a cup of tea.
It's there to pep you up in the morning.
It's there when things go wrong half way through the day.
It's there when you've just got in, frozen to the marrow and want to unwind.

I was lent a trio of small, old flashes from a friend. Along with a little light trigger, so while sat in the kitchen with a big mug of steaming hot tea, I thought it was about time I tried them.

Once I'd found some batteries, figured out how to turn them on, located some black card for the background, black paper (hence the crinkles) for underneath, then created a very, very rudimentary snoot type thing to reduce the amount of light hitting the background.... my tea was cold!

This is the best of the bunch. Next time I need to add a bit of a diffuser (I was using a small Tupperware box) to reduce the glare off the mug. Also could do with making a better snoot. This one was literally folded black paper over the flash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.