Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

"Don't Look Now Ethel..."

"But I think someone's taking our picture"
"Ooh quick Bert, check if I've got seaweed on my shell! "

This is as lovey dovey as I get today.
No photos of the lovely Valentines day card I got.
No photos of the huge bunch of flowers I got.
Not even a photo of the love of my life.

Just two little Whelks, sat minding their own business, waiting for the tide to come back in.

In fact, I spent today with my friend Shona (of the London Skype fame) as she was back North for a visit.

We went all round the coast, from Auchencairn, to Gatehouse of Fleet.
We stopped in Kircudbright for lunch (Polarbites- best smoked Haddock fish cakes ever!) then we went on to Carrick bay for a walk (to walk off the aforementioned fish cakes) and then for a very civilised tea and cake at (what I think was) Galloway Lodge Restaurant in Gatehouse of Fleet. Where I had a huge piece of chocolate sponge cake (omnomnom), they had very kindly let us in because it had gone past their closing time, I'm very glad they did!

Then homeward bound, only to witness one of the most amazing sunsets I think I've seen. As I was driving onto Dumfries' ring road I didn't have a chance to stop and take any photos of it. Doh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.