MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Muito Forte

My brother arrived today!!! He's been infinitely helpful in identifying birds- I've seen (for sure):
- southern lapwing
- ruddy grounddove
- tropical kingbird
- magnificent frigates
- neotropical cormorants
- some large hummingbird we're having trouble identifying (a black jacobin?)
- possibly a Peregrine OR a Aplomado falcon (I like to think its the Aplomado, but that's pretty unlikely habitat-wise)

Despite just having arrived, we got him to walk to the Fort of Copacabana and see all the guns there. We also bought some very beautiful paintings at the Hippy Fair- I'll probably still buy more when I pass through in June. And lastly, we ate at the very lovely Manuel and Joaquim's restaurant and nearly died with the "Churrasco Misto" (4 lunguica sausages, 4 chicken breasts, 2 steaks, and 2 porkchops with rice and fries- considered a meal for 2 people and all for 57 reais.) Fortunately, my terrible Portuguese was enough to get us a doggie bag! (It was literally, "I think this is more than 2 people. Is it possible to transport in house?") My portuguese DID, however, help the British couple next to us almost order a half bottle of wine. They were struggling with this word "half" so I interjected, "meia" but it didn't help them anyway, since they couldn't order a half bottle of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.