Goodrich Castle

Just South of Ross on Wye. Whilst Hugo was playing in his badminton tournament I went sightseeing (blipping). I found this amazing castle on a hill overlooking the Wye valley. There has been a castle of sorts here since 900AD. The oldest bit remaining now is the big square tower (the Keep). The rest you can see is mostly 15th century.

Its a classic castle with two drawbridges and a fortified entrance (the Barbican) two portcullis gates, a central square, chapel and stables.

It was destroyed by the roundheads in the civil war, who attacked with a large mortar called Roaring Meg.

I blipped loads of stuff, long thin stone tunnels, the mortar, panoramas etc. But having now driven back to Letchworth full of cold, sniffling and coughing, I haven't got the energy to process them yet. In fact I took ages to process this one, I can't seem to get it together, in the end this is a simple 3 image HDR with a mono conversion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.