A walk in the park

Well, hmm, I was in a park - Arthur's Pass National Park but it was more of a disciplined grunt and scramble than a walk. What a day.

And yes, that is hpx at no.3. I love this environment but boy I have a healthy respect for it. As you can see, in parts there is no room for error. It isn't cold, I just prefer tough old polypro gloves when you have to do a lot of ridge work to save my office hands. It's not rock to rely on.

Good people, majestic vistas and perfect weather. A little bit of breeze and partly cloudy so we didn't over heat.

Mts Bealy, Lyall and Avalanche Peak, 7 3/4 hours. That last 1 - 1 1/2 hours is all concentration. The uphill is easier than downhill, the last 1 hour plus little more than an unrelenting rocky plunge that fills with tumbling water falls in heavy rain.

This is the flip side to the earth moving beneath us in Christchurch. These are the mountains formed by the Alpine Fault. Places of majectic beauty. As I understand it any fault is a zone of deformation rather than a skinny line on a map. That said you wouldn't want the Alpine Fault to move while up here. But that's life isn't it and there is no point staying at home miserable and wondering "what if?...".

It might surprise some to know I have a love of English choral music (along with The Stones, Pink Floyd, student radio offerings, NZ music and the blues). Parry's 'I was glad' rung through my head today until replaced by concentration only, one careful foot placement in front of the other.

Mum and Dad, Kate and Travis (my faithful aunt and uncle who also view my blips), I suggest you listed to Parry as you look at this blip and be rest assured no hpx was harmed in the taking of this photo (or at any other time during the day).

I live in a beautiful land. Today was a different kind of awe and raw power to what we've experienced on the plains. I'm tired as I knew I would be but what a sense of accomplishment. Today has been a microcosm of what it's like living with nearly 18 months of earthquakes; you learn to put one foot in front of the other and celebrate the moments (and days) of fun, camaraderie and beauty.

You learn to appreciate the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.