thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Battlefield

It began well. 6 Slavonian grebes out in the Bay, and a great crested grebe as well (less common than Slavonians here). Then in my telescope I spotted some waders on this spit of rock, exposed at low tide, at the end of the beach I don't usually visit.

When I reached the spot they were nowhere to be seen, but perhaps if I just go on to the ridge of rock by the spit, they'll be hiding in the next bay. Sure enough they were - turnstones and oystercatchers - but I was looking at them and not where I was putting my feet. The ground rose up and struck me hard on the nose. Both nostrils bled profusely into the rock pools, polluting whatever life existed. By the time I had staunched the bitter-tasting flow the rocks looked like a battlefield.

I'm fine now, the nose isn't broken, but is impressively bruised, grazed and swollen. And still bleeding. And my knees hurt.

Happy Valentine's Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.