meccanica

By meccanica

snow storm

A lot of the South Island woke to snow this morning. We woke to an inch of hail. The hills behind the city had a good covering of snow though and I made my way up there as soon as I could think straight. If I had thought to take my snowboard I could have managed a few good runs down the four wheel drive track from the Bullpen to Swampy, but I didn't and the dogs and I laid the first footprints up to the Pineapple track. We spotted two other walkers and their dogs going the other way but that was it. Ten minutes drive from the city on a stunning day and there were three humans and four dogs on the track.

Have just spent the evening watching the olympic rowing heats where the kiwis won almost all their heats and the cycling road race where we sat in the middle of the peloton from what I could tell - an exciting finish though with a break away of three turning into six for a sprint to the finish.

I hope you're all enjoying your weekends!

[edit] more photos from the snow here on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.