LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Dark Day for Scottish Football?

I am a massive football fan. I am a huge advocate of scottish football and the scotland team. I am not a fan or Rangers and there are elements and issues associated with both sides of the Old Firm that make me despair and let this country down.

But equally both clubs have things they can be rightly proud of and they have had a huge influence on football in this country and played a leading role in its success. And whilst I am sure plenty of fans will be pointing to years of financial mismanagement as good reason not to have sympathy for the rangers, their perilous position makes me worry about the future of the game in Scotland.

There are many clubs whose financial situation is dire, burdened by large debts with no obvious means of repayment. I worry that this starts the domino effect and other clubs face administration or worse.

This year's championship has effectively been decided by paperwork not football matches. I do worry about how this all ends...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.