Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Dockland sculpture

I meant to check the plaque beside this sculpture to get the title and the name of the sculptor, but I forgot to do that. It's on the South Docks, close to the Sean O'Casey pedestrian bridge. I've noticed it several times, but this was the first time I've managed to point the camera at it.*

I'd gone in to town earlier than I needed to, just so I could get some blipping done before going to the screening of Götterdämmerung, the final opera of Wagner's Ring cycle, screened in the MET In HD season from New York. The live screening was actually yesterday evening, but my preferred cinema showed a recording at 2:30 pm today instead (due, I heard last night, to union rules about late-night working).

Four of us from the music group were there. There were some technical hitches to begin with, which delayed things by about twenty minutes, but we all agreed that the wait was well worth while. Everything about the six hours was wonderful: magnificent production, fantastic cast, brilliant orchestral playing -- even our most hard to please group member reckoned when we finally came back out into the open air at 8:45 pm that it had been a ten out of ten experience. He was right.

---------------------

* Thanks to DaveW, who comments here, I now know that the sculpture is The Linesman, and that the sculptor is Dony MacManus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.