Baby-faced election candidate

The old saying used to be that you knew you were getting old when policemen began to look young. Iudging from this poster which has appeared in whatever constituency includes the area around St Stephen's Green, it looks like election candidates are the new policemen.

In other news, today was a bit of a mixed experience. I'd arranged to pick up the elder statesman of our music group and bring him to today's music session because his usual driver was otherwise occupied. Since I stayed over in Carl's place last night, this meant that I had to borrow his car and drive right across the city and then back again to the south side. Naturally, every set of traffic lights on the way was against me, and I was much later getting to the music session than I normally would be. Then when we got there the host for the day told us there'd been a death next door and he didn't think it would be appropriate to play music at all. So we sat around and talked, talking just about every pressing problem of the moment and solving none of them.

I'd previously arranged to meet two ex-members of the group and go with them to the live screening from the Met in New York of John Adams's opera Nixon in China, and I needed to have something to eat beforehand. I finally opted for Dunne & Crescenzi. The food was pleasant enough, and filled a gap that needed to be filled.

The opera screening was wonderful. The performance was conducted by the composer, and he brought out a wonderful response from the Met's magnificent orchestra. Add to that a couple of outstanding performances on stage, and it all added up to a terrific experience, and the technical end of things went off without a hitch all the way through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.