It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A new lens!

Ok...Ok.... why would anyone take a picture of a mug? Well maybe when they get a new lens and wish to play with it on a cold winter's evening....that's why. My new Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens arrived today. Wow....it's fast and sharp compared to zoom lens'.

Luke, the pro photographer at work said it will be a shit to use at a low f stop <F4 and he's not wrong! My D3000 isn't really designed for this lens so I'll have to wait until the I have the money to get either a new D7000 or a 2nd hand D700! Still, I had three purposes in buying it:

- It works well in low light and the D3000 sensor isn't the best for low light
- It will teach me to frame pictures correctly rather than zoom zoom zooming
- It is the sharpest as a pinnest lens for under £500 and indeed £100

The proof is in the pudding though....or is it in the eating of the pudding....ohhh feck....I'll have to try and see!

Ohhh and the other half reads my blip and I was remiss in getting a valentine to her in time. She generally fakes being sick when I try to be romantic though and would definitely vomit if I sent her roses! Maybe an XTR chainring would do the trick..... although the sheer mention of a word with ring in it would have her running for the hills.....in fact she loves running in the hills....sheesh I'm babbling! RB I will not be publically soppy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.