Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Valentine's Day

They do things differently here.

At least from memory I think they do.

We (they?) don't have Valentine's as a kiddie celebration in the UK, but I rather like it this way. It makes the day so much sweeter for me, especially sweet now as I'm enjoying a rather tasty glass of Trader Joe's champagne. Tastes good after a few weeks without.

I had planned to Blip the boys together, but they really were having none of it. And who can blame them with all the sugar inside them. Instead, I feature two of the truly touching gifts Reuben has been making at school. I don't wear necklaces because I'm funny about anything around my neck, but after several decades, today I'm making an exception. The poem touched me so. I shall have Reuben read it to me soon. So grateful to the teachers who made these and the rest of the gifts possible. I hope my 2am design of the bookmarks for all the kids in the schools were well received.

So there I was thinking all I had to concern myself with for the photographer's trade show at WPPI next week in Vegas at which I'm working, was writing 8 articles for the press to deadline, blogging along the way, shooting, reviewing new photography products and missing the boys. Turns out what I should really have been concerned about was actually What to wear to a photography convention. And there's a Pinterest board devoted to it. So old jeans and Ts won't cut it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.