Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

700

Somewhat concerned that Callum should be sporting a glass of wine from his mouth, but perhaps tis but a fine celebration for 700 Blips.

Did a few backBlips, this the sweetest of Reu with sunshine arms.

Hair done in the morning, as a means to disguise the reality of the afternoon spent at UCLA hospital with the heart surgeon.

The surgery will be a little more complex than we'd envisioned: I know of the opening of Reuben's ribcage, I know off the double bypass which will breath for Reuben and pump his heart which will be stopped, I know the excess tissue will be snipped and his heart will God willing, start again, his ribcage will be stapled and glued back up and we will be home in 5 days. But I didn't know that there's a 10% chance that he'll need a pacemaker afterwards (the complexity of which I don't need to go into, suffice to say that a second open heart will always exacerbate certain risks from scar tissue), nor that the process of reducing pressure on Reuben's heart will actually reduce the thickening of the walls of his heart, thickened from being given too much of a work out due to turbulence and pressure caused by that flappy piece of tissue. So that latter revelation is good: it will undo some of the damage done, the heart being a muscle works too heart, gets more muscly.

So March 20th it is.

Today in the car with the various journeys from home to Santa Monica to Beverly Hills to Westwood, I discovered an exquisitely relaxing classical public radio station, KUSC, run by the University of Southern California and I'm hooked. There was a strong focus today with their on film composers, something my family has always been keen on, following John Williams for example all our lives. It's refreshing, uplifting and hugely soothing for me as I listen now.

Oh and it rained today. Heavily. I think I'll make a note of when it does in SoCal, as in the desert, it's pretty rare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.