Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

W i l d f l o w e r s

Golden I'd love to share it with you. It means a great deal to me.

Reuben was off school with a cold. But by the end of the day, I knew we had to visit our flowers, and suggesting it to the boys, they readily agreed.

Today I saw Reuben peddle a tricycle by himself for the first time. Now I knew he could do it from what his teachers were telling me, but the delight of seeing it with my own eyes, was a dream.

Musings on photography. I spent so many years capturing architecture and an essence of exotic cultures I was seeing over 20 years in more than 50 countries from Bolivia to Indonesia, peppered with capturing my senses of smell, taste, hearing and touch somehow in a photo. I would lie prostrate before the Taj Mahal in the 90s searching for the right aperture or slow the movement of the Iguazu Falls in Paraguay. Smell is the sense most closely related to memory and therein lies the irony that Reuben has no sense of smell, whilst my own is intense. Portraits were much more journalistic in nature with respect to the people of the varying cultures I would meet. So learning photographic portraiture became a whole new discipline for me after the birth of my boys.

I feel very happy with the long journey I have taken with my camera from film to digital in every sense and with all my deep passion for the senses.

To my dear friend Kristi: this is the night of your new baby's life as you head to hospital now for your csection. Am quite overcome with joy for you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.